Day 46: Reaching Our Last Peak

Day 46: Burnt Cabins, PA to York, PA. 83 Miles. 3,098 Feet of Elevation.

Today we began our ride in Burnt Cabins, PA, a small town named after the government burnt down the town as a statement of their control… Hmmm.

After yesterday, 3,000 feet did not seem like a bad amount. One of the most beautiful things about today is that we reached our very last peak of the trip. As we reached the top I stopped before the start of the downhill. As I watched my team approach me and reach the top of their climb, I couldn’t help but feel appreciative. We all took a moment, there at the top of our last peak, to be thankful for this journey. To take a moment to recognize all the mountains we have conquered, both literally and metaphorically.

For me, this trip has been one of the hardest things I have done. But, it has been one of the most beautiful things I have yet to experience. On day 1 I wrote in my blog “There is no place I’d rather be.” Then as we reached our heat waves and 500 mile weeks I questioned my strength and mental toughness. But now, seeing as we are 4 days out, I realize how strong I have become. However, I could not have done this without my teammates, family, and friends who have supported me endlessly throughout this trip. I’ve had so many conversations with people over the fact that there were so many days on this trip that I probably wouldn’t have made it through if I didn’t have these girls with me or my parents to call. So this is a big thank you to everyone I know supported and believed in me, even when I didn’t believe in myself.

This trip has brought healing, newfound adventure, new faces and friends, and has changed my heart. We have heard so many stories and so many people have become part of our story, and these are the things I hope to carry with me. Cheers to the past 46 days and the “mountains” we have climbed, and let’s see what these next 4 days will bring!

Leave a Reply

